30 September 2010

Blue Ribbon Chess Books 2009

Since my page on Award Winning Chess Books was last updated May 2009, I added three books that had received awards since then -- Herman Grooten's 'Chess Strategy for Club Players', Eliot Hearst & John Knott's 'Blindfold Chess', and Garry Kasparov's 'Kasparov vs Karpov 1975-1985'. Although the book on 'Blindfold Chess' won the 2009 Cramer Award, I couldn't find a formal announcement for it. Nor could I find any mention of a 2008 Cramer Award.


Mark Weeks said...

Subject: award winning chess books
Date: Monday, October 4, 2010, 11:50 AM

Dear Mark,

I saw your interesting page on chess book awards.

Are you aware of the Guardian Chess Book of the Year competition?

In 2007 our Endgame Virtuoso Anatoly Karpov won, and in 2009 our new and extended edition of The Sorcerer's Apprentice.

Further, a book we recently republished in a new and extended edition, Dynamic Chess Strategy by Mihai Suba, won the BCF award in 1991

Besides, the Italian edition our Chess Opening Essentials, Part 1, won the Premio Alvise Zichichi 2005 of the Italian Chess Federation.

best wishes,

New In Chess

Mark Weeks said...

I'm jumping the gun here, because they are 2010 awards: A day or two after I posted this piece, I discovered that the ECF gave its 2010 award to Jacob Aagaard's 'Attacking Manual'. Somewhat later, the November 2010 issue of Chess Life mentioned that Yasser Seirawan's 'Chess Duels' won the best book award (p.43); I haven't seen this mentioned anywhere else.