14 May 2015

2015 CJA Awards Announcement, Offline

It happens every spring, when the Chess Journalists of America (CJA) wake up from their winter hibernation and announce their annual awards. Don't make the mistake of looking for the announcement on their web site, Chess Journalists of America, which hasn't been updated since January.

The awards announcement arrived in the May Chess Life (CL), which is only fitting, since CL contributors generally walk off with the lion's share of awards. You aren't a member of the USCF and don't have a copy of CL? I've reproduced the list of categories to the left.

Once again, 'Best Chess Blog' is at the bottom of the list, but at least it's there. Good thing, too, because it gives me the opportunity to write two easy posts -- one to announce the award process (mysteriously titled Chess History Archive last year) and one to announce the awards themselves (as in 2014 CJA Awards).

Last year the blog award went to The Kenilworthian by Michael Goeller, that blog's third time on the podium (not second, as I reported at the time). Since Michael put away his blogger's quill a few weeks after the awards were announced -- see The End of Chess Blogging -- the field is more open this year.

How to enter? The procedure is described in this month's CL article '2015 Chess Journalism of America Awards' By Joshua Anderson.

The Chess Journalists of America once again sends out a call for nominations to our annual Chess Journalists of America (CJA) chess journalism awards. The CJA awards recognize the best in all facets of chess journalism, print and online. The best chess articles, columns, photojournalism, layout, and online writing are honored within their respective categories. Recognized annually by their peers, the public, and members of CJA, the prestigious awards showcase American works published in English between June 1, 2014 and May 31, 2015. [...]

Interested parties can also contact CJA Awards Committee Chairman Joshua Anderson at [email address]. Our CJA President Frank Niro will announce the awards first at the annual CJA meeting (during the U.S. Open), followed shortly by a complete listing on the CJA website. Submissions must be made by June 15, 2015. Submissions (except the book category) are to be made electronically to the awards chairman via e-mail. Please include where entry was published, category entry should be placed in, date published, and who should receive the reward. Submissions can be paid for via PayPal or with a check made out to CJA and sent to CJA Awards c/o Joshua Anderson, [postal address].

Note the 31 May 2015 cutoff date. For the two missing addresses, see last year's announcement 2014 CJA Awards Program. There's still time to write the winning blog post!

1 comment:

Mark Weeks said...

Sometime during the last week or so, the CJA published...

Entries Received for Chess Journalist Awards 2015

...We can already declare a winner for two of the four categories that interest me most: Chess Journalist of the Year (Mike Klein) and Best Chess Blog (chessbookreviews.wordpress.com).