07 May 2019

2019 CJA Awards Announcement

It's become an annual exercise on this blog -- following the Chess Journalists of America (CJA) awards. Last year, just like previous years, it took three posts to cover the main activity:-

I even got a fourth post out of the exercise to look at some of the new categories introduced in 2018:-

The 2019 awards were announced in the May issue of Chess Life (CL). Just like in last year's post, here are the award categories for 2018 and 2019 presented side-by-side. (That's the cover of the August 2017 CL in the upper right corner.) For 2019, the CJA has added nine new categories, highlighted in yellow.

2018 2019

How to enter? There's an entry form on the CJA's web site, Chess Journalism (chessjournalism.org). The structure of the online entry categories doesn't correspond exactly to what was printed in the May CL, but I'll assume that everything is covered. The announcement specified,

The prestigious awards, which are open to anyone, showcase American works published in English between June 1, 2018 to May 31, 2019.

If you're a CJA member (I'm not), good luck!

No comments: